Crocheted Baby Blanket

Baby Blanket in progress

Work in progress

I haven’t been crocheting for long, so I when I decided to make a baby blanket last September for an expectant friend, I knew I would need to combine all the little knowledge of stitches I had to come up with something that looked worthy of the time and effort that I would be putting in. I started out by using a random ball of white DK yarn from my stash, creating complete rows of the few but different stitches I already knew. Once I was happy with the practice block, I wrote down what I had done and this became my pattern to work from. I used single, double and triple crochet stitches (I’m not too sure if these are the UK or US names for them as I’ve read and watched tutorials from both regions). I also reflected the pattern either side of a triple stitch row and added a couple multiple rows to give a more interesting look and used baby weight yarn. I also added a couple of rows of single crochet around the edges to finish it off properly.

I must confess that the final blanket was completed after the baby arrived, which was early. It took many hours for me to make but it was definitely worth the effort.

20140113-185010.jpg

20140113-185024.jpg

20140113-185035.jpg

